I’m Pregnant!

Last year in October 2015, my husband and I found out that I was pregnant. We didn’t know that I would get pregnant so quickly since we heard from many people around us who have struggled to get pregnant naturally and I was not always a healthy individual. We had plans to try from January 2016, but it happened before that time, but we are still happy with the news.

Here is the photo of when I first discovered I was pregnant! I missed my period by 2 days when I took this test.

IMG_1604

I also calculated my due date when I found out that I was pregnant. I am due on June 30, 2016!

IMG_1607

Around the time I found out that I was pregnant, I was having a really hard time at my new job and was debating whether or not I should continue to work there even though I just started 3 months ago. However, I decided to quit my job to focus on my pregnancy. I have always been a workaholic so I knew that I couldn’t have a healthy pregnancy unless I made a dramatic decision. In the past, I took numerous trips to the hospital due to migraines and severe backaches. I know it was all due to stress and anxiety from work. I was also not eating well and lost significant amount of weight to the point where the doctor put me on a strict diet to keep me from losing more weight. Once I decided to quit my job, I dedicated myself to eating better and trying yoga. I always had the desire to, but never made it my priority since I felt that I would never have the time. Here are pictures of me when I was finally gaining a healthier weight and doing yoga. I was only 6 weeks in these photos.

IMG_1605 IMG_1606

Around 8 weeks of my pregnancy, I almost had a miscarriage which was very difficult for me since I was committed to becoming healthy for my baby. I kept blaming myself for not being healthier way before my baby was conceived, but I realized that we can’t control miscarriages when they happen. Fortunately, we were ok and we did not miscarry. Here are photos of my trip to the hospital.

IMG_1668 IMG_1669

After our hospital visit, I went to visit my OB-GYN and she confirmed that my baby was still in my belly. I was so relieved and happy to see a photo of my baby.

IMG_1676

 

During the first 3 months of my pregnancy, I experienced extreme nausea. I would vomit every other week and the only way I kept food down was if I ate small portions and had my organic pops and sour patches. I tried so many things to relieve my nausea and nothing worked except for constantly eating small snacks and sucking on my candy.

IMG_1678 IMG_1679

This is a photo of my second month of pregnancy, I started to show a little bump. People often mistaken it for me being bloated from eating a large meal rather than being pregnant.

IMG_1685

 

Later in my third month of pregnancy, I took a pre screening test for genetic abnormalities for my baby. It was my worst fear when I got a call from the doctor telling me that my baby was in the high-risk category for down syndrome. They needed to take further tests to confirm their diagnosis. I really tried to stay strong, but my husband was my backbone when I heard the news. I started to blame myself again for not being healthy enough for my baby. My husband and I did a lot of research on the tests that were taken to make the initial diagnosis and what happens when infants have genetic disorders such as down syndrome. As we researched more, I was more calm and we both decided that we would pray. We both realized that our baby will not suffer because he or she has down syndrome, but will suffer if we do not accept our baby no matter how he or she is born. We would embrace our child no matter what health condition he or she is in and love unconditionally.

IMG_1765

Thankfully, we got a call after taking another test confirming that we were not in the high risk category for down syndrome. Either way, we promised each other that we will continue to pray for our baby’s health and happiness and love him or her unconditionally. Here is a photo of me reaching my 12 weeks of pregnancy. “Yamachan” was the nickname we had for our baby until we found out the gender of our baby.

IMG_2402

IMG_2419

 

Here is a photo of the ultrasound at 12 weeks. Our baby is growing so fast!

IMG_4722

 

Since my husband’s mother was visiting from Japan around the time I was 3 months pregnant, we decided to get a sonogram for her to see the baby inside me during my 15 weeks of pregnancy. I was happy that she was able to see the pictures, but I regret having gone through it because I read articles that we should not do unnecessary ultrasound for the baby’s safety. Here are the photos of the place we went to.

IMG_1771IMG_2849

IMG_2840

IMG_2836 IMG_2837 IMG_2838 IMG_2851

 

Here is photo when I was into my 4th month of pregnancy.

IMG_1842

 

Since doing a lot of research, I decided that I wanted to give birth at a birth center. I was not comfortable enough to give birth at home and the hospital setting gives me anxiety since I have always associated the hospital with all my illnesses. I wanted to have control over my body and be in a calm and relaxing environment when my baby was born. Here are some photos of birth centers we visited in Los Angeles, Ca. .
IMG_2930 IMG_2941 IMG_3010 IMG_3013
Finally, here is the most updated ultrasound photo at my 16 week pregnancy appointment and they confirmed that we are having a girl!!! Yay!! My husband really wanted a girl so his wish came true 😉

IMG_1859
Fast forwarding to today, I am now almost 6 months pregnant and I am having a healthy baby girl so I am so fortunate to have come this far.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

